EVCT Aspiring Playwrights

East Valley Children’s Theatre is searching for aspiring playwrights to become a part of the theatre’s future seasons of performances. Contest rules and prizes are listed below.

  • All plays must be submitted to East Valley Children’s Theatre no later than February 1, 2024.
  • Playwrights must include a cover sheet with name, address, phone number and email address
  • Plays must be suitable for children to perform and for an audience of children. (Plays with small casts are not as likely to be chosen for performance; casts of 18 or more are preferred)
  • Plays must be 60-90 minutes in length. Shorter plays may be submitted but will not be considered for a seasonal theatrical production.
  • Plays and musicals must not have been previously performed. They must be original and unpublished.
  • Musicals must include a copy of the music in either manuscript or audio recording format.
  • Playwrights are not required to pay an entry fee.

The first place entry will receive a $500 cash prize, a limited stipend for travel, and will be produced by East Valley Children’s Theatre in its upcoming season, if it meets all the criteria for performance. Second and third place winners will be announced and recognized. Travel stipend is dependent on the author attending the show, accruing travel costs and having a talkback with the actors.

Winner will be announced by April 1, 2024.


Send entries to:
East Valley Children’s Theatre
P.O. Box 20514
Mesa, AZ 85277-0514
Or email them to: info@evct.org
For more information or questions call EVCT at 480-756-3828.

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2023 


First Place – A Tale of Bravery of a Zebra, a Lioness and a Very Very Small Bird
by Nikki Harmon
Los Angeles, CA

Second Place – Abigail’s Basement
by Gabrielle Goulet
Mesa, AZ

Third Place- Adventures of a Young Daydreamer
by John Biscello
Taos, New Mexico

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2022

First Place – The Frog Prince
by Marcus Yi
New York

Second Place – The Princess and the Goblins
by Kai Cofer and Cody Gillette

Third Place (a tie)
DIY Fairy Godmother
by Steph DeFerie
Loch Ness, a monster of a musical
by Stacey Lane of Illinois and Kathie McMahon of Arizona

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2021

First Place – The Prince and The Pauper, the musical
Book by Mark Liebert, Music by Ben Liebert, Lyrics by Ben & Mark Liebert
New Jersey

Second Place – The Silver Bell, a musical
By Matthew Sheridan
New York

Third Place – DIY (Do It Yourself) Fairy Godmother
by Steph DeFerie

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2020

First Place – The Clumsy Princess
By J.S. Puller & Joel Esher
Illinois & New York

Second Place (a tie) – Loch Ness, a monster of a musical
By Stacey Lane & Kathie McMahon
Illinois & Arizona

Second Place (a tie) – Tales From Zaspyurn
By Jay Barber

Third Place – Wish, a musical
By Paul Lewis

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2019

First Place: Space Mission #5379: Saving Rachel Nevada
by Laura Winters
New York

Second Place: Abandoned Way Out West
by Diane Burbano

Third Place: The Treasure of the Enchantress
by Linda Howard Cooke

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2018

First Place: Camelot and Camelittle
by Stacey Lane
Chicago, Illinois

Second Place: The Lost Boys of Neverland
by Tanner Morris
Mesa, Arizona

Third Place: Bippity Boppity BAAAAAM
By Charlotte Nixon
Calgery, Alberta, Canada

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2017

First Place: Beauty and the Computer Geek
By Susan C Hunter & Tom Shelton
Whittier, California

Second Place: The Royal Toys
By J.S. Puller
Chicago, Illinois

Third Place: The Princess and the Goblins
Book by Kai Cofer, Music by Cody Gillette
Van Nuys, California

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2016

First Place: The Heroes of Olim
by Claire Howard
Mesa, AZ

Second Place: The Railway Children
by Craig Sodaro
Phoenix, AZ

Third Place: Musical (Mis)Adventures of Goopy and Bagha
by Daniel Kellin
Honolulu, Hi

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2015

First Place: “Sixty-Seven Cinderellas”
by Stacey Lane
Miamisburg, OH

Second Place: “Musical (Mis)Adventures of Goopy and Bagha”
by Daniel A. Klein
Honolulu, HI

Third Place: (Tie)
“The Heroes of Olim”
by Claire Howard
Mesa, AZ

“No Fear”
by Hollie Michaels
New York, NY

EVCT’s Playwriting Contest winners for 2014

First Place: Moonprince 
by Drew Ignatowski

Second Place: Arya’s Rock: A video game adventure 
by Mark Smoylar

Third Place (tie)
The Prince and the Beggar 
by Brenna McBride

The Magicest Most Magical Paintbrush 
by Joshua Mikel

Want to see more playwright submission opportunities? Click Here!

See all of the winners of our contest since it began.  Click Here!